June Goals

Pay off school loans

I just have $309 left to pay! After July is over, I’m going to start planning a solo trip somewhere fun!

Take myself on a date once a month

I tried. I really did! But this adorable restaurant in San Francisco was closed on Sundays and it was the only time I could have made it work.

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 8.32.50 PM

Honestly though, John and I went on really slam dunk dates this month. We went to Shake Shake Shake in Tacoma, a place I’ve been dying to go to (and it was super tasty!).

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 8.36.55 PM

He treated me to a beautiful dinner at an adorable hotel for my birthday (and we went antiquing, and we went on the world’s coolest hike). We went on our first free museum night in YEARS. Every meal was super special and memorable in their own way.

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 8.33.05 PM

Do something politically active once a month

This wasn’t politically active per se, but I joined a group of coworkers to raise money for Parkinson’s disease and altogether we raised almost $5,000! As we raised the money, so many people came to us with their stories of friends or family members who have been affected by the disease. It was heartbreaking, but reaffirming. Health care is in a scary place right now and anything people can do to help those that are sick is so, so necessary.  Plus, it was a gorgeous day to walk with my little family and coworkers!

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 8.19.21 PM

Set monthly exercise goals

That month has been crazy, to say the least. Still, I’ve managed to mostly keep up with my goals! I’ve been getting biweekly massages from Cameron at Dreamscape Massage (he is incredible) and in my last massage he suggested that I work more on my core strength which could help my back.

“WELL THANKS” I thought. Even at my skinniest itty bitty body size I’ve never had abs. Or anything that remotely resembled abs. So what’s the point of building core strength if I’m always going to be chubby there? Slowly I incorporated more core workouts and I’ve already noticed a huge difference in my lower back pain. Core workouts still suck, but at least it’s given me a renewed focus!

Do something special for John once a month

After our trip to Idaho last month, I was planning on taking John’s car to the car wash again, but he beat me to it! I honestly just lavished in his attention this month and will get back on track next month. I love that we have different birthday months. May is always about John and June is always about Morgan 🙂

Meditate everyday

 

It wasn’t a bad month of meditating, but it wasn’t great either. I gave it a good effort and I’m proud of myself! When things get crazy, I tend to shut down or get really cranky. I’ve noticed that I’ve been going with the flow and am much more relaxed than I would normally be in these situations!

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 8.40.45 PM

Make a new friend

I’ve considered taking this one off because it’s been making me feel bad every month. But you know what? I spent a weekend with my dad and stepmom. I got a beautiful lunch with a friend who’s adopting her first pet (a cat named Hemingway!!). I’ve spent some really wondering days with John. The kids are here for the summer and we’re getting frozen yogurt and chatting all the time. I truly am enjoying where I’m at right now.

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 8.36.05 PM

Other things in June… 

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 8.49.39 PM

I flew to San Francisco for work, but got a chance to hang out in Napa with my dad for the weekend. Other than it being 106 degrees (and no AC!) we went wine tasting and to church and I think it was a pretty good Fathers Day weekend for him!

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 8.51.16 PM

For my birthday (oh yeah, I’m 27 now!) John took me to Ape Cave, a hike I’ve been dying to go on ever since I heard about it! It’s the longest lava tube in North America and was so deep underground that when we turned off our flashlights, you couldn’t even see your hand in from of your face. My imagination went wild and it was so much fun!

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 8.53.37 PM

It’s officially farmers market season and that’s pretty much all I think about now 🙂

DSC02384

We took the kids to Golden Gardens for a low tide beach walk on a hot and sunny day in Seattle. The kids kept their complaining to a minimum (sort of), but I think they actually had fun!

Leave a Reply

