May Goals

Pay off school loans

Oh. my. goodness. $900 to go! That’s basically like nothing! (Well, at least in comparison to what is was before…) It’s been tough, my god it has been TOUGH, but I’m proud that I’ve come this far and can see the end in sight!

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.01.30 PM

Take myself on a date once a month

So, I didn’t really fulfill this goal this month. Or if I did, I don’t remember it, which isn’t a good sign…. BUT I did treat myself to quite a few new things that were on crazy 40-50% sales 🙂 A new dress (it has tennis rackets on it! eek!) a new retro-style one piece bathing suit (swoon) and a bunch of adorable summer PJs! Plus two new tops. I’m going to Maine in late June/early July for a family get together, and I’d been envisioning a lot of red, white and blue, my absolute favorite color combination, and so I had to go out and buy a few things 🙂

The sun has officially come with a vengeance in Seattle! I even got a sunburn! (I’m not exactly proud of this, but I swear at times it felt like I would never see the sun again this winter…) While I’ve lived in Seattle, I’ve gotten pretty used to a very distinct summer and winter wardrobe change, right around early May and late October. A couple weeks ago I packed up all my wool-everything and brought out my summer clothes. Normally this is a really exciting moment for me, because at this point I’ve kind of forgotten about some of the clothes and it feels like I just went on a shopping spree. But this time, things felt a little different. 1. Not everything fit me (more on that later) and 2. A lot of the clothes felt old, sad, frayed, or just too young for me. I realized that I lot of these clothes, dresses and shorts mostly, dated back to college, or when I first moved to Seattle. Obviously things aren’t going to hold up that well after 5+ years, but for some reason I just clung to them. Of course clothes are really expensive. And finding clothes that fit me is near-impossible. But still, I created a “to donate” pile almost immediately.

Over the years, I’ve definitely become more conservative. I just don’t feel comfortable in super tight, super colorful, or even slightly short clothes anymore. I need to find grown up clothes that fit my style and my size, and I think that’s worth splurging on a little.

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.01.46 PM

Do something politically active once a month

This month I donated $75 to Planned Parenthood. They were matching donations that day, so I knew my money would go farther. I’m downright scared for the fate the United States and THE WORLD when it comes down to women’s health and reproductive rights. We all have an immediate need to do SOMEthing in this regard. Donate money if you can, sign a petition, call your representative, volunteer… do SOMEthing.

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.02.40 PM

Set monthly exercise goals

So, like I mentioned before, a lot of my clothes aren’t fitting me.

At this point, I’ve been regularly going to the gym for a few months now. I’ve gotten a better handle on my levels of stress at work. My home life is much less stressful now, really than it’s ever been.

I should reiterate, a lot of those clothes that don’t fit are from 3-7 years old. I am getting older. Maybe, just maybe, this is the size my body wants to be now. But then I look on Instagram at friends from high school and college and they are SO SKINNY. How?! Do they just work out every day? Do they eat next to nothing? I just don’t get it! How can I have gained 30 pounds since high school and they look EVEN BETTER than they did in high school? Of course, when I realized I was being super unhealthy and gazing at pictures of my friends in bikinis. I decided that I needed to unfollow them. It was just making me feel horrible on a near daily basis. Until I’m ok with how I look, I think it’s better this way.

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.04.12 PM

I did gain more weight when John and I got together (4 years ago now). This could mean two things… he cooks delicious food, but sometimes unhealthy food, and maybe that’s affecting our weight, OR hormones typically go through a change at the start of a relationship (you know what I mean). Back in January, I went to the doctor and she encouraged me to mess around with my hormones in a new way and so this may be changing things in my body even further. I’ve decided to give it until the end of June before I make a decision in that regard.

So the final option is diet. I think it’s time to actually put myself on a diet (EW. EW. EW.) and try to eat healthier. Less meat, less carbs, MORE veggies, MORE fruit, NO soda. Sweets and some wine is fine, just in moderation. I’m going to need to talk to John about all of this because he does 100% of the cooking, but I think it’s worth a try.

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.00.42 PM

Do something special for John once a month

John’s birthday is in May. Like all things about John, he is very difficult when it comes to his birthday. He hates celebrating it… yet I know if I pretended to forget about it he would be furious. So, I tiptoe around it. Honestly, it upsets me a little, but because I LOVE birthdays and I think they are a BIG deal.

So this year, I thought of a good workaround. John really wanted to surprise the kids with a trip to a rollercoaster theme park this summer, and found out that the tickets would be a fraction of the cost if we went a weekend in May. So we started planning and I offered to cover the hotels rooms, as his birthday present. Because let’s be honest, we went 50% to surprise the kids (they were totally, completely surprised) and 50% because John absolutely loves rollercoasters more than anything. He agreed and this was an easy way to feel like I was celebrating him. Minus a few preteen moments (and terrible weather at the park) the weekend went really well and John had so much fun.

fullsizeoutput_1921

On his birthday day, the weather reached the hottest it’s been since last September, which is NOT good John weather. We had agreed to meet at the mall so he could pick out some clothes for summer and his upcoming trip to Virginia and we found a ton of great things on sale, so I treated him to some new pants and a couple shirts.

Trying to test things a little further, I mentioned that I was absolutely famished and would he mind grabbing dinner downtown? He looked suspicious, but I think I played it up pretty well because I was honestly famished! I suggested somewhere casual, but as we were running our last errand I casually pulled up a menu for Radiator Whiskey, a place I’d been dying to go for years, and he agreed. The restaurant was pretty great, not fancy at all, but still fun and eclectic, and the food and drinks were excellent- definitely our kind of place. The only set back was that it was the same temperature inside as it was outside. He was a good sport, (maybe because of the fried chicken and whiskey…) and I think he actually had a really good birthday 🙂

Meditate everyday

I’ve gotten better about meditating and really making time at work so that I’m not as stressed out. It’s made a big difference! Things will change quite a bit in the next month at work, and I’m going to have to take that change in stride and really focus and keep refocusing on staying away from stress and remaining calm. I’m going to continue to take some time every day to just breathe through it.

Make a new friend

I haven’t been successful here. As much as I know that this is a priority, I’m approaching my favorite season and hobby- reading magazines or books outside on a blanket in the sun… totally alone. John has been in Virginia for the past week with his family, and as much as I’ve missed him, I really, truly have enjoyed this alone time. I just need alone time more than most people and when things get crazy, I need my alone time even more.

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.12.31 PM

Other things in May…

We saw cats playing beautiful music at Pike Place…

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.30.22 PM

…but they aren’t as cute as my cats…

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.30.32 PM

 

 

Leave a Reply

