Resolute Resolutions for 2017

I definitely failed on all my 2016 resolutions, and I’m actually ok with that. Despite all the hardships from the year, I’ve learned that I need to give myself a break. I’m focusing on loving myself more, but also being more intentional with where I put my energy.

img_1044

Pay off my school loans.

I’m very careful with my money, but I still have thousands of dollars that I owe in college loans. I’ve taken a look at my finances and have decided that 2017 will be the year that I will officially pay off all my remaining loans and become debt free. It will be tight, but I know I can do it. And I’m so excited to get rid of that debt!

img_1231

Take myself on a date once a month.

There are dozens of restaurants in Seattle that I am dying to try. John loves being at home, and he loves cooking, so he’s not hankering to try these restaurants with me. I need to be brave, stash a book in my purse and treat myself to a delicious meal in a gorgeous setting.

img_0643

Do something politically active once a month.

I’ve never felt comfortable talking politics and I’ve actually considered myself “not interested in politics”. I’ve always felt like I don’t know what I’m talking about, but I also get stressed when things get heated. After this election, I don’t have the privilege to not care anymore. I’ve decided that every month I will do SOMEthing to show politicians how I feel.

9n1a4649

Set monthly exercise goals.

I’ve actually been doing a great job with this one in 2016. For the past three months I’ve set a goal of walking to work and doing back stretches and every month have met or surpassed all these goals. In the new year John and I are going to be joining a gym, with the goal that we will become happier, healthier people and that I might finally learn how to Zumba!

 dsc00704

Do something special for John once a month.

My goodness I am a lucky woman. He feeds me, he cleans our house, he makes our home beautiful, he’s a wonderful father, he’s a great friend and the smartest, hardest worker I have ever met. Yes, he’s cranky and difficult, but so am I. I want to show my partner how much I appreciate him.

dsc01436

Meditate every day.

I admit, I’ve had a VERY difficult time compartmentalizing in my new job. There have been weeks were I can’t sleep because I am so incredibly stressed. I’m making it a goal in the new year to calm my mind and breath, at least once a day. I might invite the rest of my office to join me… it could be fun!

dsc01554

Make a new friend. 

This may sound silly, but in the past month I’ve put distance between myself and my family, John has started a new job and my closest friend took off for a 6 month adventure in Asia and Europe. Needless to say, I’ve felt lonely and it’s made me realize that I need to 1. Find things that I love about myself and 2. Find people who will love those things too.

One thought on “Resolute Resolutions for 2017

Leave a Reply

