Pull it Together

If you’ve seen me lately, you know. I’ve let myself go.

I never do my hair, most of my clothes are wrinkled, I hardly wear any makeup and even if I start the morning off with the best intentions and a carefully applied swipe of lipstick, it’s gone by lunchtime. I’ve just stopped caring as much.

In May, I chopped 6 inches off of my hair and no one noticed. For the first time in my life, I didn’t have a curtain of long brown hair to flip around and everyone around me couldn’t care less. In some ways, I felt sad and missed my long hair because I thought my mid-length hair made me look plainer. But really, I just didn’t care all that much either.

Summer came early this year, right around my big hair cut. Suddenly, I didn’t see the need in drying my hair, because no one noticed that I painstakingly dried and curled my hair every day. While I was at it, I’m sure no one noticed my skin care routine. Or how filled in my eyebrows are.  Or that my nails were painted. For the most part, I had become completely laid back about my appearance, but not more comfortable in my own skin necessarily. I haven’t felt more beautiful with this new minimal approach, just more lazy.

While I’d love to get to the point where I find myself to be ravishing sans makeup, I’m not quite there. (Though John keeps trying to convince me, I should probably just believe him already) I’m getting closer, but I’m not quite there. The thing is, I love lipstick. I love pretty dresses. I love fashion. These are materialistic things, but they are things I am passionate about. Now that things will be cooling down for the fall, I hope I can get to a place where I am comfortable applying my fashionable sensibilities to a much more toned down morning routine.

a667069888396c8b3398834d0c84c437

All this to say that I recently saw a movie, A Man From U.N.C.L.E. and it was amazing. Funny, smart, fast paced, witty, sexy, and glamorous. I would highly recommend the movie to everyone, but I think the one thing that really stuck with me was the incredible fashion. The film was set in Europe in the 60’s, so everything is vibrant and quirky and sleek. It made me want to step my fashion game up a bit. It also made me want to become a spy… but I’ll work on the fashion thing first!

a882680e50775329d97bdcdfaf39e41668364f75febb0535f54fe870786230a4d1d743f0f7d1ed63e64f6e085c35ddd0f490bb19e8a88b44f36089111c93f17f

Leave a Reply

