LadyBoss

I’ve been on a bit of a “I am woman, hear me roar” kick lately. I’ve been wearing pink, a color I normally despise. I’ve been watching Call the Midwife, a BBC show about the start of nursing with an almost all female cast. But I think the thing that has made the most impact is reading books written by women only. My feisty feminist side has gained so much knowledge from these smart, sexy ladies and I wanted to share some of my favorite bits with you!

Women are such beautiful, power, inspiring creatures. I’m so lucky to be one.Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 7.16.30 AM

Some advice from Sophia Amoruso, the original #GIRLBOSS:

“The average American saves 6.5%of his or her income, which is barely keeping up with inflation. But you, dear #GIRLBOSS, should 10% at the bare minimum. I know it’s a lot easier to talk about saving money than it is to actually save it. Here’s a tip: Treat your savings account just like it’s another bill. It has to be paid every month, or there are consequences.”

“In business, a disproportionate amount of importance is placed on the ability to network. If you don’t thrive on going on and meeting a million people, you might end up feeling like you have less of a chance of getting ahead in your career. Also, introverts might hang back in meetings and thus not perceived as “leadership material,” even though introverted people frequently make more empathetic managers. As I’ve said before, part of the reason I started Nasty Gal was that I wanted a job where I could be myself and not have to deal with people. I wasn’t great at in-person customer service, because I can’t fake a smile to save my life, but it turned out I was really good at it electronically.”

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 7.16.44 AM

“From Nasty Gal’s inception, I have always viewed the business as a work in progress. I constantly tweak and move on, peeling back layers of the onion as new ones arrive. If something didn’t work- like if I put a dress up for auction and no one was bidding on it- I didn’t just assume that no one wanted it. I just tried something else.”

“A #GIRLBOSS knows where she excels and where she could use a little work, so get to know your weaknesses.”

While this wasn’t my favorite book ever, it’s definitely worth a read. I felt empowered and sexy and smart after reading it, I hope you do too!

(You can find it here or borrow it from me!)

Leave a Reply

