Some Thoughts on December

IMG_2550

If I’m being 100% honest, December just wasn’t the month for me. It was a month of trials and tribulations that I wasn’t sure I was ready for.

Like November, I spent a lot of time at home, reading and watching movies and TV, but mostly because I was avoiding DOING anything. I felt newly motivated to try new things, but when it came down to it, I felt petrified to try something new and disappointed when I finally got myself to do something.

In all honesty, it’s really a month I’d like to forget, but I can’t be too pessimistic,  there were a few moments of good.

The first was this little tiny tree with white lights. My first real Christmas tree as a grown up, and our first tree together. We didn’t do anything fancy, we just bought it at our local grocery store, but it still felt fun and special to put it all together. We opted for no ornaments and I’ve been really happy with that decision.

IMG_2486I had originally wanted to knit or crochet stockings for John and the kids, but my mom finally told me that I was trying to do too much and would stretch myself thin. So I cheated and did the most minimally crafty thing ever, which was to buy them fuzzy stockings (to match my puppy stocking) and then sew their initial onto them. They turned out quite adorable (if I do say so myself) but I found out I was a bit rusty at the whole sewing thing and accidentally got some blood on John’s stocking! Luckily, I chose red fur 🙂

IMG_2535 IMG_2527

Never have I felt more thankful to live in a big city than when we took a day trip to Eastern Washington. There is absolutely nothing to do and their favorite part of the day was throwing rocks into the river. Luckily though, it was a beautiful day out and the kids loved it.

IMG_2570

Please excuse this horrible picture, but we saw the final Hobbit installment at the Cinerama and I have to say, I was surprised by how much I loved it. Sure, they somehow dumbed down the book by stretching it out to 3 movies. Sure, they made up characters out of the blue. And sure, there were a handful of cheap laughs added in. But overall, this final movie was beautiful, well paced and wasn’t overzealous (ahem, Return of the King, ahem) with the ending. Oh, and John and I actually had another date night at the beginning of the month with a somewhat fancy dinner out at The Tin Table. We were served wild boar schnitzel and red wine butter steak… and it was the most delicious thing I’ve eaten in a long time. Then we went home to watch Terminator 1 and 2. Overall, a pretty perfect night!

IMG_2512

I opted to become much more involved in a toy drive at work, after encouraging so many of my clients to do the same thing! I felt like a regular Martha Stewart, shopping around for the perfect items for our basket raffle. It kept me busy in a time when I needed to take my mind off of things and was of course for such a good cause. (Here is Michele modeling with our team’s s’more themed basket) We were able to give almost 150 gifts to foster kids this year! Plus… I won a basket! I NEVER win anything! It was so great too, a coffee-themed basket with adorable mugs, the cutest coffee scoop and bags and bags of coffee.

IMG_2581My mom asked me to be her date to her holiday party and boy am I glad I went! Not only was it a great way to spend time with her, but her coworkers were a lot of fun and the party was a family-style dinner at an Italian restaurant (my favorite kind of restaurant) with wonderful foods I wouldn’t have normally tried. There was a secret santa game with trading… so of course my mom and I played with competitive strategy and I ended up scoring some bourbon for John. I feel like this was definitely another big win for me… and I’m wondering if my luck is turning around!

IMG_2563

This is my favorite spot to think in Seattle and I have to admit that on a cold, dark winter day, it really isn’t much to look at, or all that pleasant to visit. But I feel like I needed to center myself a bit. I get overwhelmed easily, when things in my life feel as if they are not going my way and December definitely threw me some curve balls. I’m definitely looking forward to set some lofty goals for myself in 2015, but I also need to just let it be and relax. Everything will work out for the best, I just need to take a step back from it all!

One thought on “Some Thoughts on December

Leave a Reply

