Fa Ra Ra Ra Ra

IMG_2592

I loved Christmas in a really different way this year. Last Christmas was quite wonderful (family time in PJs with brunch and Home Alone… then family time at my aunts house) but this Christmas was quieter, even lonelier, but it felt kind of right.

IMG_2595

I really like to have plans. I like to make plans way in advance so there’s no disappointment later on. I like to know where and when I’m supposed to be somewhere. Because Thanksgiving was such a big get together with my mom’s side of the family, Christmas everyone waited till the last second to make plans… elsewhere. So the week of Christmas, John and I accepted that we would just have Christmas at home, and my mom would come over for dinner. I thought it would feel lonely, for it to be just us, but we kept busy opening stockings (we didn’t do gifts this year) and family gifts, but also prepping and cooking a lot of delicious food in the kitchen. My mom and I lounged on the couch for a bit, watching a movie, and enjoying the food coma. I tend to get really overwhelmed and shut down when surrounded by a lot of family, so this quiet Christmas felt much more laid back and casual.

IMG_2601

The next day, John picked up the kids and we did Christmas all over again but this time with LOTS of presents and excitement. After a huge dinner of leftovers from the day before, I managed to get Sean to watch Super 8 with me… and he actually liked it!

IMG_2585

It was a different Christmas, that is for sure. But it felt right. Different, but in a good way. I hope you had a wonderful holiday too!

IMG_2602

PS: Presents! My sister got me the Clinique Clarisonic (something I’ve been dying to have for over 4 years) and John and I PJ’s and new mugs! My aunt, uncle and cousins bought me the most adorable, thoughtful gifts (like these socks) and my mom bought us the striped blanket because I’ve been searching high and low for a grey wool blanket that’s still soft enough for our bed!

Leave a Reply

