Breathe

tumblr_m8xukbKnus1rxfzlmo1_1280

I’ve meant to do yoga classes for a long time, really, I have.

Last year, around this time, I had joined a gym for almost 3 months. I lost like 10 pounds and felt super tiny and toned, but it wrecked my back and I felt so much pain every time I went. Plus, I’m just not really a “gym person”. It just wasn’t really worth it to me.

The thing is, yoga is a pretty big deal in Seattle. It’s not just some silly girly thing, or worse, a granola thing. It’s just something that a lot of people do. Every time I tried to get up my nerve to go to the super popular yoga studio in Queen Anne, I backed away. 1. It was fiercely expensive. 2. Everyone there was tall, thin, blonde and wore Lululemon yoga pants. 3. I got the feeling that I wasn’t going to be welcomed into this sorority.

Finally, I feel like I’m at a point in my life where I can 1. Afford the classes and 2. Have found the right place for me. A couple months ago, I used a free week at a local studio in Capitol Hill that I’d walked by a hundred times before, that’s less than 2 blocks from my apartment. I was surprised at how quickly I picked up everything in the class and I felt my body relax into complete flexibility in the “warm” (not hot) yoga room. There were a lot of gay guys, a lot of couples, a lot of women by themselves and a lot of girlfriends… but for the most part everyone keeps to themselves and just focuses internally. Plus, the instructors are so hopelessly cool with their tattoos, super fit bodies and great taste in music. It’s really wonderful.

For the first time in forever, I’ve felt comfortable just being myself. I go without a speck of makeup on and am usually rocking a terrible Megan Fox, dinosaur or butt rock T-shirt. I don’t really talk to anyone, which feels really ok. I can just completely tune out from the world around me and focus on breathing and stretching and frankly sweating… a LOT.

I’m not pushing myself very hard, I’m starting off with a session once a week. But I’m going to eventually work up to twice a week, and then maybe try a more difficult class. But for now, I’m just creating the habit and pushing myself ever so slightly out of my comfort zone. It feels really good.

Leave a Reply

