A Stand in the Night

I have lots of weird beliefs when it comes to decorating, but especially when decorating my own home.

A nightstand was basically impossible for me to find because I had about a trillion requirements. I wanted it to look:

-Mid century modern

-Have legs and come off the ground by a few inches

-Be made of wood

-Have a drawer

-AND a shelf

I fell in love with this nightstand over a year ago from West Elm, but couldn’t imagine spending over $300 on a nightstand. That amount is ridiculous, especially for literally the smallest piece of furniture in the room.

Screen shot 2014-08-17 at 4.15.54 PM

When I moved in with John, I ended up making use of an old tray table that was just large enough to hold my lamp, a glass of water and a small (very small) book. I read a LOT of books… that just wasn’t going to cut it for me! So I scoured Craigslist, thrift stores, and even considered spending an exorbitant amount on something new just to get something that I wanted. Finally, after a few months of searching… I found the perfect piece on Craigslist. I got lucky, I truly did. For a small price of $50 it was mid century modern, made out of wood, painted white, sturdy with a shelf AND a drawer!

IMG_1950

IMG_1951

IMG_1947

To sweeten the deal even more? An ad popped up for me just a few days later, probably based on my previous searches for mid century nightstands, for this practically identical nightstand from Target… for $200!

Screen shot 2014-08-17 at 4.15.11 PM

I couldn’t believe the deal I’d gotten on something that was exactly what I wanted! It’s always so worth it it to wait and find exactly what you want.

Leave a Reply

