Round Up

I’ve seriously neglected this blog in a big way.

Rather than that usual nagging feeling that I get when I feel like I’ve given up on something… this really feels natural for me. In many ways, writing in this blog has helped me sort out my thoughts and pushed me to do new things. During the past six months or so, I’ve needed to write less. Maybe I’ve needed to share less as well.

Sadly, yes, it might have to do with having a boyfriend. Why type it out when I can share that thought or idea with the person that’s with me almost all of the time? But I also have a job that requires that I write blog posts for other people. I can imagine that it drains some of my desire to write in my spare time as well. And if you haven’t noticed, all of my social networks have taken a severe drop… with the exception of Instagram of course!

The fact is, I want to write to stay connected with other people. I’ve had college friends and family members respond in such a wonderful way to what I write that it makes me feel so loved and cared for. But I also don’t want our relationship to become one sided. I want to know what’s going on in their life as well!

So here’s a round up of the last few months, in case you missed it!

IMG_0073I FINALLY went to the Seattle Aquarium! And while I was spoiled, growing up near the Monterey Bay Aquarium, this one was perfectly nice… if less exciting. I was in wonderful company though!

IMG_0126

John and I have started a new tradition, Thursday night date night. From what started as a compromise, date night has turned into a fun weekly adventure of new restaurants and museum wanderings. We would both be completely happy with going to bed at 8:30pm (it’s happened more than I’d like to admit!) but going out one night a week is a fun way to try new things without becoming too overwhelmed with options!

IMG_0307

My crazy little sister came to visit for Christmas! We did all the touristy things of course, but we also did some things that I never get a chance to do, like get a manicure and go into new antique shops!

IMG_0336IMG_0349IMG_0383

New Year’s Eve is my least favorite holiday, but this year I spent it with a handsome man, eating lobster and steak at home and then venturing out to meet some of his friends for the big countdown. And in true Seattle fashion, it was too wet and foggy to see the fireworks!

January was admittedly not my favorite month. Lots of really hard, unfortunate things happened in in. But there were a few great moments:

IMG_0391 On the first day of the year, I baked something that I’d always wanted to bake. I’ve really lost my cooking itch lately, but small victories like this keep my faith up!

IMG_0404 I’ve started to go to the gym. And anyone who knows anything about me, knows that this is a VERY big deal. For the past 3 months or so, I’ve actually been really good about going 2-3 times a week. It’s a small, laid back place where I admittedly don’t do anything too strenuous… but I go! This escalator was closed for months, and almost everyday after the gym I would have to climb up that huge flight of stairs. I was pretty excited to see what it was working again!

IMG_0487January had it’s share of really stressful moments and I’m honestly pretty proud of how I handled them all. One of my biggest accomplishments and challenges of the month was remaining positive in this moment.

IMG_0515 A date night at a super cool oyster bar, one of the restaurants I’ve been pining for… the Walrus and the Carpenter! It doesn’t get better than that!

IMG_0420 Our 1920’s Holiday Party was stressful leading up to it… but the night was wonderful in so many ways!

IMG_0419IMG_0460

 

One thought on “Round Up

Leave a Reply

