Oscar Picks

Screen shot 2014-02-09 at 5.42.38 PMObviously, American Hustle had a phenomenal cast. The casting and level of acting was impeccable. The soundtrack was incredible. The costumes, hair and makeup were ridiculously good. At times, I felt like there was a bit of a lag, and the story could’ve used some fine tuning, but I left the theater feeling lighter, happier. This movie was FUN.

(And seriously, give the soundtrack a listen.)

Screen shot 2014-02-09 at 5.43.21 PMAfter August: Osage County was over, no one left the theater. (And, no, we weren’t waiting for a sneak peek to the next Marvel movie.) I think we were just all sitting there with the overwhelming feeling of SADNESS. All that fun from American Hustle? You won’t find it here. Yes, AOC had an impeccable cast. Yes, the acting was phenomenal. And yes, I’d probably give every actor and actress in the movie an award. But don’t go into this movie wanting to feel uplifted or inspired. There’s no soundtrack, there’s hardly a set or costume. It’s just dark and really, really sad… and what’s worse? It’s completely realistic.

(And Benedict Cumberbatch plays a simple American amazingly well!)

Screen shot 2014-02-09 at 5.38.25 PM   The film that took the cake was Her.

What I saw took my breath away. Spike Jonze created a world. Everything felt realistic without feeling real. It felt soft, airy, and fresh. I have never seen a movie like this before. I wanted to be a part of this world of high waisted pants and buttoned collars, sun kissed beaches and bright city lights. Still, weeks later, I replay scenes of this movie in my mind and smile. I just really, really liked it. I know a lot of people want to make this movie about so much more, but I truly just enjoyed escaping into the world of Her.

Leave a Reply

