Road Trip!

IMG_5004

Last weekend, I went on my first road trip! With only a vague timeline, a cooler full of sandwiches and an empty weekend ahead, we took off to explore Eastern Washington! Each stop was an unexpected surprise and so, so much fun.

The first stop: Snoqualmie Falls! I’d always heard about Snoqualmie Falls, and I knew how close it was to Seattle, but it felt like another world! The thick forests gave way to this beautiful waterfall, which (of course) reminded me of LOTR. Stopping at the falls and driving through the mountains had to be my most favorite part, I just felt at home in the crisp air and lush mountains.

Our next stop was the Petrified Forest in the middle of dry, arid Central Washington. I oohed and aahed at the cool rocks as only a true geology nerd could, running my fingers over what were once trees, but now feel like smooth shells! We had only driven an hour or so from Snoqualmie, and yet we felt like we were on a completely different planet. The hot desert air was striking compared to the cool, misty air in the mountains.

After a few more hours of driving through a whole lot of nothing… we reached Spokane (a city with not much to talk about!) and we hopped over the border to Idaho (because neither of us had ever been before) and ate burgers. The day was long and hot and admittedly the driving was tiring… but it was such a fun day of exploring and adventures! And, I’m lucky to have found someone as nerdy about geology as me! The phrase, “Hey, look over there at those basalt columns!” was actually spoken in the car. IMG_5005 IMG_5006 IMG_5008 IMG_5010 IMG_5011 IMG_5018 IMG_5022

Leave a Reply

