Where in the World…

1181_599510450067292_390552593_n

I’ve never had much of a desire to visit Japan. Or most of the Asian continent for that matter. Most people that I meet express a desire to visit Asia, have visited Asia or are in the process of learning an Asian language. For me though, I’ve never felt that same desire. Despite the beauty of Tokyo so perfectly expressed in Lost in Translation, visiting countries like China, Japan, Korea and Thailand seem almost overwhelmingly different from my interests.

When I discovered that the newest issue of Kinfolk would be all about Japan, I hesitated for only a second. I knew despite of my strange disinterest in the Japanese culture, Kinfolk would create something beautiful and interesting and unique for me. I loved that I learned how to harvest wasabi, the intricacies of ramen, how to make macaroons, fake cherry blossoms and the importance of knives all within a few pages and accompanied by beautiful photography. Screen shot 2013-06-09 at 4.09.35 PMScreen shot 2013-06-08 at 9.47.38 PMScreen shot 2013-06-09 at 4.11.08 PM

And in case you think I’m some ignorant, intolerant racist (!) I am fascinated by the world around me and have a long list of locations that I would love to explore! The arid safaris and desserts entice me, the whitewashed villages of Greece beckon me to explore and the wild coastline of Ireland whispers my name. If I were to make a list, it would look very similar to something like this…

-United Kingdom

-Greece

-Morocco

-Egypt

-Guam

-India

-Australia

-South Africa

-India

-Mexico

-Canada

-Kenya

-Spain

-Iceland

-Russia

Where in the world do you want to go? Are any of these places on your list? If so, let’s make a plan and go!

Leave a Reply

