Tomboy

Fun fact about me: When I was a little girl, I played on an all-boys baseball team. I was (and still am) morally against softball because it’s for girls.

At the time I was a hopeless tomboy, and there’s still a part of me that has retained that boyishness. Sure I wear dresses and love yellow flowers, but I love muscle cars, greasy burgers, Quentin Tarantino movies and can burp louder than any man I know.

Baseball games have always been a big part of my life. I can remember my dad (a diehard Red Sox fan) practicing with me, my sister and I taking tickets at the local baseball stadium and the many, many games that I attended everywhere from Oakland to Boston. I will wholeheartedly admit that I was not a good player and I’m awful at remembering statistics or players names… but there’s something about being at a baseball game that makes me so happy. It’s the epitome of summer. It’s fireworks, garlic fries, camaraderie and traditions. Baseball movies like The Sandlot, A League of Their Own, Angels in the Outfield, Fever Pitch and yes, even Summer Catch, marked my childhood and defined my adulthood.

So I knew I’d love 42. And it truly was a darn good movie. After seeing the trailer, I thought it was going to be a more modern take, but they really maintained a simplistic, nostalgic view of Jackie Robinson’s introduction to the world of major league baseball. For me, the love story of Jackie and Rachel held it’s own against the other pressing story lines and really showed their sweet, pure kind of love. Chadwick Boseman did a fantastic job and his spot on acting left me in tears multiple times. 42 had the highest grossing opening weekend of any baseball movie and I’m glad that myself and the 7 other people I went with contributed to that number. 42 deserved it.

42-2013-Movie-Poster

-1

Leave a Reply

