Overwhelming Goodness

Sometimes, I get overwhelmed. And if I didn’t have as much control over my surroundings, I’d feel overwhelmed a whole lot more. A couple of weeks ago, I lost control of my surroundings. I was going out too often, trying to do too many things at once and meet too many new people. My nights started to blur into each other and I couldn’t remember who told what story or if I was repeating myself. What I needed to do was remove myself for a few days and spend some time alone, but I was so excited with what was going on in my life that I didn’t take a break. When it rains, it pours, right? Well my life was in a torrential downpour… and all the sudden their were clear skies. I had a moment to think, to relax and, of course, to worry.

In my few days of thinking, here’s what I’ve come up with: I’ve put a lot of good into the world this week. I left big tips, I made people laugh, I smiled at everyone that I saw and I generally made the people that I was around happier. I wore sundresses, I ate good food, I even went on a RUN (this is a very big deal). To top it off, this morning, I was watching Community when I looked out the window and saw… snow. Beautiful, gentle, soft, sweeping snow. So I took a few moments of my morning, wrapped in a thick cable knit sweater, sipping my coffee and sitting on my windowsill to think about my beautiful week. All in all, I had a great week. So in the end, after putting all this good into the world and being strong when it was much easier to be weak, I feel that if something is good, it will happen and if it’s bad, then it won’t happen.

I know it’s simple, but it helps.

IMG_2931 This is what I look like eating Thai food with one of my best friends. Afterwards we walked around and then laid in bed for a couple of hours. Days just don’t get better than that.

IMG_2935 “Rhoda” “den” “dron” … I found out that these are actually the state of Washington flower, and now I know how to pronounce it!

IMG_2939 One afternoon, when I was particularly overwhelmed and feeling sick and rotten, I worked from my couch and ate fruit and watched my cats be weird.

IMG_2953 Yeah… it’s been so cold that I instantly start crying when I step outside, but the sun has peeked its way into every day this week. I don’t hear anyone complaining!

IMG_2964 This is the real reason that I love wearing rainboots.

IMG_2968 Finally… baseball season!

IMG_2980 Spring is here! Daffodils are popping up all over the city and I’m falling in love with Seattle all over again!

IMG_2982 Everyday that I go to work I walk past this and think of the bat signal.

IMG_2983 This is one of my absolute favorite pictures because I had no idea that the bear was going to kiss me and Louise looks so darn cute. I can’t believe that this was more than 4 years ago!

One thought on “Overwhelming Goodness

Leave a Reply

