By The Sea

IMG_2806

When I was a little girl I looked my name up in one of those “Your Name Explained” books. According to this particular source, Morgan is a Welsh name meaning “One by the sea” and I loved that. I pictured myself standing on a mossy Celtic-looking cliff with waves crashing below me and the sun setting behind my hair (which was of course blowing in the wind).

So I’m not sure if that book is to blame, but I’ve always felt calm and peaceful by water. Sometimes, when I’m feeling low, I can head to the nearest body of water and feel myself relax. My thoughts become coherent, my shoulders slacken and my hair is swept into unruly waves. I count myself incredibly lucky that I can walk 1 block from my house and have a spectacular view of the Sound, 5 blocks from my work walk along Lake Union docks and I can take an easy day trip to a quiet local beach.

IMG_2808 IMG_2821 IMG_2822 IMG_2823 IMG_2831 IMG_2832

One thought on “By The Sea

Leave a Reply

