Quiet Foggy Mornings

IMG_2619

After a particularly foggy morning, the other night was perfectly clear and I felt as if I could see every star in the sky. It might sound a bit strange, but I love looking up at the sky. I could do it for hours. It humbles me and in many ways makes me feel completely insignificant. It seems to me as if a star spangled curtain has been draped over the world and we are the miniscule puppets making entertaining mistakes below. I need to make some changes in my life, but my problems aren’t large and they aren’t life altering. Looking at the stars reminds me that everything is small.

IMG_2627 IMG_2629 IMG_2639 IMG_2641

The fog has been pretty insane this week. I honestly love fog, it might actually be my favorite weather, but the other morning I experienced frozen weather AND fog. I knew of snow and I knew of rain, but I never knew that the world could be covered with a thin sheet of ice without the help of either weather. I felt pretty silly slipping and sliding in my ballet flats and almost breaking my back every other step I took. In addition, my hair became a sparkly halo of little ice crystals. Honestly though, I don’t mind the quiet walks to work in the morning. I’m forced to put my phone away (my hands get too cold) and to see all the beautiful frozen changes around me.

IMG_2649

It was a fairly quiet (minus the fog horns) week for me. I’ve been hunkering down at work and in my spare time really concentrating my efforts into making Seattle feel more like a home. I’ve treated myself to a new sweater, new books and in return, I’m trying my very hardest to put myself out there and try new things!

One thought on “Quiet Foggy Mornings

Leave a Reply

