Golden Gardens

IMG_2324

My trip to Golden Gardens in northern Ballard was exactly what I needed. I felt like I was entering a mystical place, so far removed from everyday life. The weather was grey and misty. Sounds of someone playing the harmonica carried in the wind. Sailboats drifted by in silence. Couples sat in their cars looking out over the water. People walking their dogs nodded a quick hello to me. As I waded in the waves my mind kept wanted to rush to a million different thoughts and yet kept returning to the same one.

This little trip was one of my most favorite experiences in all of Seattle. I was in the perfect mindset to absorb every sound, smell and touch. I can’t wait to go back. In the summers I’ll sunbathe and picnic and wade even further into the waves (but I refuse to swim… let’s not get too crazy!). In the winters I’ll return all bundled up with a cup of coffee and a good book.

IMG_2325 IMG_2326 IMG_2327 IMG_2328 IMG_2329 IMG_2330

Leave a Reply

