Lucky Girl

I’m writing this on a bench, overlooking the Puget Sound. Occasionally, a tiny ray of sunshine peeks through the thick grey clouds above. Just a few blocks away is my own apartment, fully furnished with all of my own things and two cats are sleeping on the couch, waiting for me to come home and play. I’m in good health, I have a full time job and I have still time to explore, read, write and watch amazing movies.

Of course this year hasn’t come without some heartache and hardships. Let’s just say that I don’t recommend working 5 jobs or living out of a suitcase for 10 months! I’ve worked incredibly hard and sacrifice a lot for what I have, but I’m so thankful that my life looks nothing (and I mean ABSOLUTELY NOTHING) like what it did a year ago.

This year was the first Thanksgiving in 5 years that I was able to spend with family and without working one (or two) retail jobs. I spent the day with my aunt, uncle and cousins in the homes of their welcoming friends. We ate good food and played silly games. I didn’t have one moment to worry about other things in my life. It was exactly the day that I needed. I’m a lucky girl.

Leave a Reply

