Human Cat

I have always been a self-professed cat lady and I like to joke that I’m basically a human cat. I like to lay in the sun, take long naps and groom myself. I would absolutely thrive in a world where I could sleep 20 hours a day and rarely leave my house.

But I also don’t understand this negative connotation of being a cat lady. In my experience, cat people tend to be quieter, they like lounging around at home and they’re just a little more introverted than dog people. My problem is that I’m a cat person who’s drawn to dogs and dog people. Their constant energy and go-go-go attitude is overwhelming yet fascinating to me. For years I thought that having a dog or surrounding myself with dog people would change me into one, or bring out a “better” side to me. In the end, no matter who or what I surround myself with, I’m always going to be me… a human cat.

I’d been thinking seriously about getting a cat when I moved into my apartment, but at the beginning of November I decided that it was going to take on the responsibility and make that leap. I had set up the rental car to take to the shelter when my grandparents made their weekly phone call. They were excited to hear that what I was looking for was a male all-black cat because they knew of one that needed a home… but there were a few catches:

One: he had a sister that they couldn’t separate him from

Two: they weren’t kittens anymore, they were almost 9 months old

Three: they had been rescued from a hoarder house and were raised in bad conditions

After hearing all of this, I couldn’t not take these two cats in! Without my even seeing what they looked like, my grandparents brought them to my house and within a matter of hours I was responsible for two cats who were so scared of their new surroundings… including me. Though I feel like this prepares me in a (very) small way of what it will be like to adopt children, it’s somewhat devastated me that they didn’t want anything to do with me for the entire first week. They mostly hid under furniture and looked at me like I was crazy. And of course this was my biggest fear… that they wouldn’t love me. Slowly they began to realize that if nothing else, I was the lady that came home and woke up early to feed them. And every day something small in their behavior changes and warms to me. Cleo (named after Elle Fanning’s character in Somewhere) is more timid around me, but braver when it comes to trying new things. She also likes carrying my thick wool socks around the house. Lucas (named after an almost nonexistent character in Amelie) looks like Toothless from How to Train Your Dragon and is the cuddler of the two. He’s also freakishly dog-like and likes playing fetch. They both have hairy hobbit paws.

Slowly but surely they’re beginning to remember what time breakfast is and what time I come home from work. And though it was a big responsibility to take on two at once, I don’t regret it for a second because I have not one but two of the cutest faces to wake me up in the morning and they like to watch Parenthood and New Girl as much as I do.

I am a cat lady, hear me roar.

Leave a Reply

