Grateful

About a year ago, I would sometimes jot down a few words or sentences on a piece of paper and drop it into a little red box. I wouldn’t do it everyday… just when I felt like it and I called this little red box my “grateful box”. As I was moving around the the little red box went into storage, I transferred my grateful notes into something a little more portable… a “Thankful Thursday” blog post. But as the months went on even that post was becoming time consuming and difficult and slowly faded from use.

I have an issue with being grateful. I know how lucky I am and how blessed I am to have the things that I have, but I have always struggled with wanting more or wanting “better”. There have been times in my life that are very low, very negative, very dark and they’re usually when I’m not really taking the right perspective on my life. There’s always going to be something that I don’t have, but that I desperately want. There are always people that are going to have more than I do. The last few weeks haven’t necessarily “dark” but they’ve definitely been negative. I was focusing on what others around me have: money, relationships, friendships, new furniture, cute clothes, cars… etc. and in my mind taking these things to be better than what I have. I call it my “swimming upstream” outlook. There’s always going to be a boy who doesn’t like me, my dream car that I’ll probably never have or a pair of Frye boots that are starting to feel very unattainable. In many ways, this attribute has pushed me forward in life and the desire for more or better has taken me to greater places, but what I really struggle with is taking what I already have and being thankful for it.

I know I’m not the only person that struggles with wanting more, but I do feel lucky that I’m aware that it is a fault and something that needs to be worked on. With that, I’ve decided that the Thankful post needs to be brought back, but it’s also so much more than that! I need to remain humble. I need to be thankful for what I do have. I need to look at life in the most positive light!


There IS such thing as a free lunch… and I got one! I won a free lunch to a Caribbean restaurant in Fremont during a little game at work. While I don’t think I’ll go back to eat (sooo spicy!) the bright interior colors transported me to another place entirely. I didn’t feel as if I were in Seattle, or about to head back to work. It felt like I was in a foreign country!

I treated myself to a little mani/pedi… I kind of love the brown! And while I was sitting there I eavesdropped on two girls sitting across the room meeting for the first time and becoming instant best friends. It’s so fascinating to me how people meet and feel connections so quickly. I wanted to chime in and say “hey guys! I just moved here too! can I join you?” but then I might’ve died from embarrassment.

I posted this picture on instagram and I got a ridiculous number of “likes”! I wore this sundress to work and even though it was probably too casual, I couldn’t resist wearing an all yellow and striped outfit on one of the last beautiful summer days of the year! When I got ready that morning I realized just how many things in my house are yellow and striped. It’s a bit of an obsession.

I love my mornings. I sip my coffee in my robe (yes, I LOVE wearing robes) and scan through pinterest or tumblrs. Everything is quiet and slow. Sometimes, there are pancakes involved. And now, a disco ball lights up the room. Does it get better than that?

Leave a Reply

