The Cactus

I’ve always had the idea that I wanted lots of plants to be in my home… and there are two major problems with this.

1. I can’t keep a plant alive for more than 10 (or so) days.

2. Some plants irrationally give me the hibigeebies.

The solution? The cactus. And until today I thought it was the succulent AND the cactus. Come to find out… they’re the exact same thing. In many ways, the cactus sums me up pretty well… prickly and determined.

I was strictly informed that my newly acquired roommates that don’t require any attention whatsoever cannot, under any circumstance, leave my windowsill. Or they will wither away and die and it will only be my fault. Not that I mind. They line up very nicely along my huge windowsill and bring so much life to the room.

And I bought these nifty little diddies called air plants. From what they told me (I have the brochure to back it up!) they’re rootless plants that don’t need the support of soil. Some people hang them, others place them on sand… I think I’m just going to cluster them on my coffee table for a while until I can think of something a little more interesting!

Leave a Reply

