A Little Trip to Bainbridge

I basically forced myself to make the trip to Bainbridge Island. It’s not that I didn’t want to go, because I DID… I was just nervous of doing something so entirely on my own. Friday afternoon I was able to leave work a little early and I thought it would be the perfect time to finally make my little adventure. I checked the bus schedules. I checked the ferry schedules. I mapped how far I would have to walk. I mapped out all the little shops that I wanted to visit. Basically, I wanted to make the trip as stress-free and inexpensive as possible! And you know what? Everything went off without a hitch! And I even discovered that the ferry ride back to Seattle was free!

I’d like to think that I’m very fearless and independent, but this mini trip is about how daring as I get. In the end, it was the perfect way to spend a few hours on my Friday night. I’m not sure when I’ll go back, but I’d like to do a little more exploring next time!

The very best weather for a ferry ride. Usually ferry rides scare me and it’s probably because I’ve seen too many movies (The Ring… Deja Vu…) but this ride was wonderful. I laid on a bench and watched the city of Seattle go by and let the wind whip my hair and it felt perfect and wonderful. And any place that I can get some good people watching in is perfect to me!

As I was arriving, most people were headed out on their sailboats for a night ride and dinner. Doesn’t that sound like a wonderful way to spend a warm Friday night?

In my opinion, the only three things that a town needs are a good bookstore, a good diner and a cute vintage shop. Bainbridge had all three and more!

In many ways, this little island town reminded me of spending the summers in Maine, but it also reminds me of the mid California coast. So many spots reminded me directly of something that I’d seen in a Hitchcock movie!

This picture doesn’t even give justice to how serene and reflective the water was. I’ve noticed that the ocean just outside of Seattle is almost black. It’s so reflective, but like a mirror, you can’t really see past the surface. Is this because of pollution? Because of the way the ocean floor looks? I’d love to know the answer!

This was a little oceanfront park near the ferry dock. I drifted only about a mile from the dock landing, but there was so much to see along the main street and this little park! The next time I go, I’m going to try to bring my bike along so I can travel to a few more remote spots and beaches.

The was a flight of stairs to walk down to get back to the main road and I actually turned back around to take this picture. Isn’t this just gorgeous? The sun setting behind the mountains and across the ocean and the ferry unloading the hundreds of people that it carried across!

Leave a Reply

