Birthday Cake

After I wrote about A Homemade Life last week, I’ve been itching to bake Molly’s famous chocolate cake, which was also her wedding cake. My mom laughed and told me that I’d already eaten the Molly Cake (let’s just call it that) before, on my 21st birthday. Every year my mom bakes my cake and it’s always chocolate and always delicious. This year’s was no different. I’d been having some serious chocolate cravings lately and so it was settled, the Molly Cake HAD to be made. The sooner, the better.

If you’re not a chocolate person, stay clear of this recipe. If you’re not a baker, rejoice in this seriously simple recipe. (ONLY FIVE INGREDIENTS! I could shout that from rooftops!) But even today, our cake had a bit of a “pudding” texture in the middle. Not that I’m complaining… I love chocolate in any texture… but in my opinion, cakes should be uniformly cake-y inside. Suffice to say, this cake is delicious regardless. I’m sure if you burned this cake, it would still taste delicious. You don’t need much, just a little sliver goes a long way, and topped with some vanilla ice cream or whipped cream, it’s simply heavenly.

-7 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

-1 3/4 sticks unsalted butter into 1/2 inch cubes

-1 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar

-5 large eggs

-1 tablespoon unbleached, all purpose flour

Preheat 375. Butter 8 inch round cake pan. Line bottom with buttered parchment paper. Microwave chocolate & butter 30 seconds at a time, stirring often, until smooth. Then add sugar while stirring. Let cool for 5 minutes. Then add eggs one by one, stirring well. Then stir in flour. Bake for about 25 minutes, until the top is cracked and the edges are puffed, but begin checking regularly at around 20 minutes. Let cool for 15 minutes before removing from the pan by an aluminum flip method.

My mom likes the powdered sugar effect, and I must say, I don’t disagree. That cracked, slump-y and bubbled top is beautiful in its imperfection and the sugar only enhances the cracks and crevices to their best angle. And on my 21st, she outlined a “2” and “1” on each cake!

These are our newest addition, “porch pansies”. Aren’t they gorgeous? Pansies are such an under-rated flower and one of my absolute favorites. I wish we could pick pansies into bouquets. Have you thought about any new spring-time plants for your porch or windowsill? I’m such a sucker for flowers and plants at home.

One thought on “Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

